Hello, Welcome back again, today I am back with another helpful tutorial for you. When your iPhone begins to exhibit software or hardware problems, resetting the device appears to be a good idea. However, can anything go wrong when you reset an iPhone, and what exactly happens? Let me respond to this question.
Resetting your iPhone restores the phone to factory settings and deletes all of your preferred settings and information stored on your phone, including contacts, apps, browsing history, music library, notes, calendar information, voice memos, and all other information.
In this article, I’ll explain what you’d lose if you reset your iPhone, whether resetting your iPhone is useful for troubleshooting, and what happens if you reset it too many times.
What Am I Going to Lose If I Reset My iPhone?
Resetting your iPhone erases all personal information on the device and returns it to factory settings. However, simply resetting your iPhone’s settings will erase your preferred settings and restore the iPhone to default settings.
You have two options when resetting your iPhone: reset all settings or erase all content and settings.
Here’s what you’ll lose if you select either of these options:
What Will I Lose If I Delete My iPhone’s Content And Settings?
If you are selling your iPhone or simply performing a hard reset, you should always choose the “Erase All Content And Settings” option.
Choosing this option completely erases all data on your device. This includes the following:
Applications, Photos and media library, Music, Calendar, Notes, Contacts, Credit and debit card Info, Wallet, Voice Memos, Preferred settings and all the other information stored on it.
Erasing all content and settings on your iPhone would also disable iCloud, iMessage, FaceTime, Game Center, and other Apple services and reset your iOS to factory settings. However, your iCloud data is not deleted from iCloud; only your iPhone is.
Before erasing all content and settings on your iPhone, make a backup of all your data to iCloud or a PC, as it will be erased from your iPhone.
- How To Renew Lease WiFi On iPhone? [A Complete Guide]
- How To Do Square Root On iPhone Calculator With Easy Steps?
How to iCloud Backup iPhone Data?
- Go to Settings > [your name] > iCloud > iCloud Backup to get started.
- Enable iCloud Backup. When your iPhone is plugged in, locked, and connected to Wi-Fi, iCloud automatically backs up your data.
- Back Up Now to perform a manual backup.
Is it true that resetting an iPhone deletes everything?
Resetting your iPhone deletes all of your personal information, including your preferred settings, credit card information, Apple ID, apps, photos, music, and any other data stored on the device.
Many problems have been solved by factory resetting an iPhone. If your apps are crashing, the device is not responding, it is stuck in an endless loop of restarting, or your memory is full, a factory reset can help.
A factory reset erases your device, leaving only the original iOS software and factory settings behind. Only the standard apps such as Clock, App Store, Messages, Camera, Calculator, Contacts, Compass, Calendar, FaceTime, Voice Memos, and so on remain.
Any of your personal data and information is erased from the apps, which is why people erase all content and settings from their iPhones before selling them and switching to a new phone. Speaking of new iPhones, you should purchase your new Apple device from Apple.com.
The data stored on iCloud, on the other hand, is not erased; it is simply deleted from your iPhone but remains on iCloud, which you can access at any time at iCloud.com. Before you reset your iPhone, it is always a good idea to back it up to iCloud or your Windows/Mac computer.
What Will I Lose If I Reset My iPhone’s Settings?
The iPhone’s Reset All Settings option is ideal for resolving minor bugs and issues with your device. Apple recommends resetting all settings if your iPhone is having trouble making purchases or performing other functions, such as a speaker malfunction or phone freezing.
But what exactly does the option Reset All Settings do? If you choose this option, will you lose any important data?
The Reset All Settings option deletes all of your preferred settings and returns your iPhone to its factory settings. It deletes the following:
- Location settings
- Keyboard dictionary
- Privacy settings
- and Apple Pay cards
- Network settings
- Home Screen layout
However, you will not lose any of your iPhone data or apps. You can also restore specific settings such as Reset Network Settings, Reset Keyboard Dictionary, Reset Home Screen Layout, and Reset Location & Privacy. These options are useful when you only want to reset a few settings.
Is It Safe To Reset My iPhone?
A factory reset, in general, will resolve any software issues and improve iPhone performance. When your device has software problems, Apple recommends factory resetting it. Remember to back up your data on iCloud or a computer before performing a factory reset, as a factory reset erases all personal settings and data on the device.
There are numerous reasons why you should reset your iPhone:
A reset can easily fix corrupt iOS, application crashes, long pauses, and other software issues on your iPhone. If you’ve already rebooted your iPhone and the problems persist, an Apple technician may request that you reset it before they can fix it.
Go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings to factory reset your iPhone.
However, before erasing all content and settings, make a backup of your data.
Remember To Keep Backups:
You should always keep a recent backup of your iPhone data in case your device is lost or your data becomes corrupted. A factory reset is an excellent reason to make a recent backup of your device. You can backup your iPhone using iCloud or manually on your computer using iTunes.
It Boosts Performance
Have you ever noticed how those “storage full” alerts vanish when you back up and reset your iPhone? This is due to the fact that having too much memory reduces the performance of your device. So, whenever your iPhone’s storage is full, back up your data, reset your device, and reinstall only the apps you need. It will eliminate the never-ending “storage full” alerts as well as fix the performance issues.
When setting up or giving away the iPhone, perform a reset
Any personal information stored on your iPhone would be erased if you resetting y it before selling or giving it away. It is the most effective method for ensuring that none of your Apple Pay cards, messages, contact information, apps, or other data is left behind.
So, before transferring ownership of your iPhone, make sure to reset and erase it. It will allow the new owner to configure the phone to his preferences.
What Happens If You Reset Your iPhone Too Frequently?
You can reset your iPhone an unlimited number of times. Resetting your iPhone multiple times will not harm or degrade its performance. In fact, resetting your iPhone every few months can clear out all of the bugs and improve its performance.
Aside from the time it takes to restore and reinstall your iPhone, there is no harm in resetting the device multiple times. It clears your app caches and data, which improves the overall performance and speed of your iOS device.
Resetting the device only deletes the content and settings, leaving your device as good as new. It does not harm or delete the operating system of your iPhone. It only returns it to its original settings. So you can be confident that nothing bad will happen to your device.
That’s all there is to it when it comes to resetting iPhones. Please keep in mind that a factory reset will not solve all problems, and you should only consider it if nothing else (such as restarting the device) works. If you only want to reset a single setting, we recommend using the reset options for that setting rather than erasing your entire device. For example, you can restore your privacy settings to their default state by selecting the Reset Location & Privacy option.